Nickitas Demos

Three Sketches for String Quartet



  • 1
    Three Sketches_m1_excerpt
  • 2
    Three Sketches_m2_excerpt
  • 3
    Three Sketches_m3_excerpt

Three Sketches for String Quartet (1987)

Nickitas Demos

I. Aggresively - score preview

II. Despondently score preview

III. Mischievously score preview

Duration: 10'

This youthful work was composed during my graduate studies at the School of Music at Indiana University. As the title implies, these movements were more informal approaches to the string quartet and to string writing in general. In the first movement, I sought to not only explore a more dissonant language but experiment with rudimentary metric modulations. The second movement, in stark contrast to the first, features a very lyrical melody in the first violin and an insistent, undulating pulse in the cello. The final movement carries melodic elements of the second movement while also exploring somewhat abstracted Greek folk rhythms.