Nickitas Demos

Creative Loafing - Posted March 22, 2017


SoundNOW Celebrates New Music Ensembles

Article written by Doug Deloach previewing SoundNOW 2017 - Atlanta's Contemporary Music Festival. As a co-founder of the festival, I am quoted throughout.


ArtsATL.com - Posted December 28, 2016


The Year in Review

Classical Music Critic and Composer Mark Gresham recounts the top classical music events in Atlanta for the year. The festival I co-founded, SoundNOW is included in the list of notable events.


ArtsATL.com - Posted April 4, 2016


Preview: Atlanta’s new music ensembles gear up for inaugural SoundNow Festival

I am cited as a co-founder of the SoundNOW Festival. The article gives a brief history on the development of the inaugural 2016 festival and previews all the concerts that comprise the week-long event.

 


SCI Newsletter - November-December 2014


Atlanta in Distress & Why You Should Care

Invited article published in the November-December 2014 issue of the Society of Composers, Inc. Newsletter. The article summarizes much of the content originally posted in a series of entries in my blog Greek & Composing concerning the 2014 Atlanta Symphony Orchestra labor dispute.

 


ArtsATL.com - Posted October 15, 2014


Preview: Terminus Ensemble performs fourth season opener, then heads off on a different track 

Preview of a Terminus Ensemble concert. My work, secret music, is one of the works programmed on the concert. 

 


NewMusicBox - Posted September 25, 2014


Open Letter From American Composers to Atlanta Symphony

I am one of the signers of an open letter to the Woodruff Arts Center board in response to the lockout of Atlanta Symphony musicians.

 


WABE-FM 90.1 - Posted July 9, 2014


"A Little More Fearless" - Classical Musicians Think Like Rock Musicians

I am mentioned in this audio feature from Atlanta NPR affiliate WABE-FM 90.1 about the Clibber Jones Commission Project.

 


ArtsATL.com - Posted August 2, 2013


Preview: Perimeter Flutes To Showcase Local Music

A preview article highlighting the August 3, 2013 concert given by the Perimeter Flutes written by Mark Gresham. My work, "Chasing Time," commissioned by the Perimeter Flutes is mentioned.

 


Composers Circle - Posted May 31, 2013


Composers Circle

I was featured on this site which profiles a different composer each each day. My composition, "Citizens of Nowhere" is also highlighted.

 


Greek Diaspora Intellectuals Reflect on Cavafy - Posted April 29, 2013


2013 marks 150 years since the noted poet Constantine P. Cavafy's birth and 80 years since his death.

The C.P. Cavafy Chair at the University of Michigan invited myself and other diaspora Greek intellectuals from around the world to participate in the celebration by writing for an online Forum. I contributed a short piece on "the meaning of Cavafy today" as it pertains to my work.

Click HERE to reach the Forum then click on to "Contributions" to read my brief reflection.

 


ArtsATL.com - Posted March 14, 2013


Review: New Music From Gremlins Duo and neoPhonia

My neoPhonia New Music Ensemble concert is reviewed by Mark Gresham.


Huffington Post - Posted May 15, 2012


Choreography: Tranforming Personal Poisons Into Beauty?

My work for the Atlanta Ballet, Pavo, is previewed.


ArtsATL.com - Posted November 21, 2011


Memorial Drive: Atlanta’s forgotten classical music history

I am featured in this article detailing Atlanta's contemporary music history. 


GSU Magazine - Fall 2011


Musical Footsteps

I am profiled in the Georgia State University magazine.


Atlanta Composers Blog - Posted June 2, 2011


Q&A With Composer Nickitas Demos

Interview appearing in Atlanta's local composer blog!


NewMusicBox - Posted June 20, 2010


VNPAC - Composer's Voice in the Chorus - And in the Solution

My guest blog on NewMusicBox covering the 65th National Conference of the League of American Orchestras. Part 3 of 3


NewMusicBox - Posted June 18, 2010


VNPAC - Stranger Here Myself

My guest blog on NewMusicBox covering the 65th National Conference of the League of American Orchestras. Part 2 of 3


NewMusicBox - Posted June 17, 2010


VNPAC: The Orchestra R/Evolution Starts Now

My guest blog on NewMusicBox covering the 65th National Conference of the League of American Orchestras. Part 1 of 3