Nickitas Demos

Creative Loafing - Posted April 5, 2018


Knocking on Heaven's Door - SoundNOW highlights Atlanta chamber music

A preview article written by music critic Doug Deloach highlighting events associated with the SoundNOW FestivalMr. Deloach writes, “Breaking through “Heaven's Door” beckons adventurous listeners to SoundNOW 2018, the contemporary chamber music festival celebrating Atlanta’s wide-ranging and eclectic chamber scene. The six-day festival (April 8-13) features six ensembles performing a variety of works including three selections from Karlheinz Stockhausen's final cycle, Klang.“Our mission is to highlight Atlanta's great diversity of artists performing the music of our time,” says SoundNOW co-founder Nickitas Demos. A professor and director of Georgia State University’s Center for Collaborative & International Arts, Demos is also artistic director of the neoPhonia New Music Ensemble” 


Auburn University - Posted February 28, 2018


A Little Lunch Music, 3/1/2018: Classical Guitarist Performing Renaissance, Romantic, New Music

Preview of guitarist Luther Enloe's solo guitar recital:

"Composer Nickitas Demos also teaches at Georgia State and composed “Tonoi XI” for Enloe. The piece will be on Thursday’s program. Enloe says it is a very tocatta-like piece, meaning it is virtuosic, showing off the technique of the performer. Tocatta’s meaning is related to “touch.”

Demos is a clarinetist. Enloe said he worries about pieces for guitar written by non-guitarists. Without intimate knowledge of the guitar’s strengths and limitations, composers will often write music that does not flatter it or is even impossible to play. But Enloe was pleasantly surprised.

“A lot of it is surprisingly idiomatic,” Enloe said of “Tonoi XI.” He says one page of it was, in fact, unplayable at first, but a colleague suggested changing it to a slightly higher key. On guitar, what might seem like a small change, such as raising the music by a half step, can drastically change the movement and placement of the fingers. Enloe said it was the perfect solution, and now is one of his favorite things to play."

- Patrick McCurry


ArtsATL.com - Posted December 29, 2017


Year in Review

Classical Music Critic and Composer Mark Gresham recounts the top classical music events in Atlanta for the year. The festival I co-founded, SoundNOW is once again included in the list of notable events.


Creative Loafing - Posted March 22, 2017


SoundNOW Celebrates New Music Ensembles

Article written by Doug Deloach previewing SoundNOW 2017 - Atlanta's Contemporary Music Festival. As a co-founder of the festival, I am quoted throughout.


ArtsATL.com - Posted December 28, 2016


Year in Review

Classical Music Critic and Composer Mark Gresham recounts the top classical music events in Atlanta for the year. The festival I co-founded, SoundNOW is included in the list of notable events.


ArtsATL.com - Posted April 4, 2016


Preview: Atlanta’s new music ensembles gear up for inaugural SoundNow Festival

I am cited as a co-founder of the SoundNOW Festival. The article gives a brief history on the development of the inaugural 2016 festival and previews all the concerts that comprise the week-long event.

 


SCI Newsletter - November-December 2014


Atlanta in Distress & Why You Should Care

Invited article published in the November-December 2014 issue of the Society of Composers, Inc. Newsletter. The article summarizes much of the content originally posted in a series of entries in my blog Greek & Composing concerning the 2014 Atlanta Symphony Orchestra labor dispute.

 


ArtsATL.com - Posted October 15, 2014


Preview: Terminus Ensemble performs fourth season opener, then heads off on a different track 

Preview of a Terminus Ensemble concert. My work, secret music, is one of the works programmed on the concert. 

 


NewMusicBox - Posted September 25, 2014


Open Letter From American Composers to Atlanta Symphony

I am one of the signers of an open letter to the Woodruff Arts Center board in response to the lockout of Atlanta Symphony musicians.

 


WABE-FM 90.1 - Posted July 9, 2014


"A Little More Fearless" - Classical Musicians Think Like Rock Musicians

I am mentioned in this audio feature from Atlanta NPR affiliate WABE-FM 90.1 about the Clibber Jones Commission Project.

 


ArtsATL.com - Posted August 2, 2013


Preview: Perimeter Flutes To Showcase Local Music

A preview article highlighting the August 3, 2013 concert given by the Perimeter Flutes written by Mark Gresham. My work, "Chasing Time," commissioned by the Perimeter Flutes is mentioned.

 


Composers Circle - Posted May 31, 2013


Composers Circle

I was featured on this site which profiles a different composer each each day. My composition, "Citizens of Nowhere" is also highlighted.

 


Greek Diaspora Intellectuals Reflect on Cavafy - Posted April 29, 2013


2013 marks 150 years since the noted poet Constantine P. Cavafy's birth and 80 years since his death.

The C.P. Cavafy Chair at the University of Michigan invited myself and other diaspora Greek intellectuals from around the world to participate in the celebration by writing for an online Forum. I contributed a short piece on "the meaning of Cavafy today" as it pertains to my work.

Click HERE to reach the Forum then click on to "Contributions" to read my brief reflection.

 


ArtsATL.com - Posted March 14, 2013


Review: New Music From Gremlins Duo and neoPhonia

My neoPhonia New Music Ensemble concert is reviewed by Mark Gresham.


Huffington Post - Posted May 15, 2012


Choreography: Tranforming Personal Poisons Into Beauty?

My work for the Atlanta Ballet, Pavo, is previewed.


ArtsATL.com - Posted November 21, 2011


Memorial Drive: Atlanta’s forgotten classical music history

I am featured in this article detailing Atlanta's contemporary music history. 


GSU Magazine - Fall 2011


Musical Footsteps

I am profiled in the Georgia State University magazine.


Atlanta Composers Blog - Posted June 2, 2011


Q&A With Composer Nickitas Demos

Interview appearing in Atlanta's local composer blog!


NewMusicBox - Posted June 20, 2010


VNPAC - Composer's Voice in the Chorus - And in the Solution

My guest blog on NewMusicBox covering the 65th National Conference of the League of American Orchestras. Part 3 of 3


NewMusicBox - Posted June 18, 2010


VNPAC - Stranger Here Myself

My guest blog on NewMusicBox covering the 65th National Conference of the League of American Orchestras. Part 2 of 3


NewMusicBox - Posted June 17, 2010


VNPAC: The Orchestra R/Evolution Starts Now

My guest blog on NewMusicBox covering the 65th National Conference of the League of American Orchestras. Part 1 of 3